top of page

How to do a To-Do List

Ever had a to-do list for your Sunday, then wake up Monday morning and realize you got none of it done? I have. Earlier this week, in fact. After a minor panic attack, I decided I needed to pull myself together and figure out how and when I would get all of this done.

Here's what was on my list:

A. Go grocery shopping

B. Meal prep for this week's lunches

C. Get Christmas gifts

D. Clean the bathroom

E. Write the final paper for my class (due Thursday)

F. Send out Christmas cards

G. Laundry

Now, after looking at this list again on Monday, I realized how lame my life was. Then, I realized how ridiculous it was of me to think I could get all of this done in one afternoon. So, I picked a new deadline: Thursday evening. This seemed reasonable and immediately gave me a sense of relief.

First things first.

I needed to prioritize things in order of importance and according to the deadline.

1. Food. I literally had nothing in my fridge. According to Maslow's hierarchy of needs, food is included in the most basic human needs. Without it, I simply wouldn't be able to get any of the other things on my list done. Plus, no one likes me when I'm hangry (hungry+angry=not a good combo). I hit the grocery store Monday night after work and was able to check 2 items off my list (A and B).

2. Write the final paper for my class. With my copywriting class ending, this paper had to be done, and done well, by Thursday. Rather than crunching it all into 1 night, I decided to spread this one out. I'd dedicate 2 hours on Monday, 2 on Tuesday, and 2 on Wednesday to get it done. That should be more than enough time, but if it still wasn't completed, I'd wake up early on Thursday morning to finish. Item E is taken care of.

3. No one likes a messy house. For me, D was next on the list in order to maintain my sanity. I'd dedicate 45 minutes Tuesday evening to clean the house and take care of laundry (item G). My house is fairly small, so that should be enough time.

*Note: I now have 2 hours and 45 minutes of work to after my real job on Tuesday. That's enough on my list for that day. Tuesday is officially cut off.

4. I love the holidays, and I love shopping for gifts for my loved ones. I realize Christmas isn't until the 25th, but due to my family's holiday travel schedules, we celebrate the weekend before (making it the 17th this year). Attributable to my Sunday laziness, I had to get strategic about my gifts this year. So, I decided I'd wake up early Wednesday and make an exact list of who I needed to get gifts for, what I'd get them, and where I could find said gift. That way, I wouldn't waste time aimlessly wandering through stores. Then, Wednesday after work I'd dash over to the mall to pick up the goods. Item C=executed.

Now, that just leaves item F - send out Christmas cards. Crap. I already felt like I had a really busy week ahead. Plus, I learned from Sunday that I get really stressed when I don't get my day's to-do list done. I feel unaccomplished, and that's not a good feeling.

So, rather than adding more to my already full to-do list, I decided to leave this one off. Not forever, just until early next week. Realizing they might not arrive until after Christmas, I had to be strategic about this also. Instead of a sappy Christmas card, I decided I'll write a corny reflection on 2016, and send it out as encouragement for positivity in the New Year. It was something new and creative - the recipients would have no idea how much of a slacker I was!

This brings us to the moral of the story: stop making to-do lists that are impossible to complete! You're setting yourself up for failure which can leave you feeling unfulfilled and inadequate. We're only human, and it's unreasonable to expect to get a week's worth of chores done in one day.

Plus, everyone deserves an hour at the end of each day to relax and reflect on their daily accomplishments with a glass of red wine (antioxidants are good for you - look it up). How you unwind is up to you, just make sure you do it.

That being said, next time you make a to-do list, make sure it's one that's actually attainable. It's satisfying crossing items off your list. Prioritize what's most important to you. If you're feeling overwhelmed, scratch something off your list that you can live without. Or, find a creative, more time-efficient way to complete the task.

Well, it's Thursday and my to-do list is all checked off. Is it too early for that glass of antioxidants?

Cheers!

Hannah


RECENT POST
bottom of page