top of page

How Not to Screw Up an Up Sell

I'm going to Jamaica later this week (!!!) and obviously I needed a pedicure before I leave. So I went to my usual spot - close by, convenient, reasonably priced, and have always provided a good experience. But this time I left with a bad taste in my mouth. Want to hear about it?

So I'm sitting there completely relaxed in my massage chair getting my pedi. She was doing a great job - until, that is, she went for the up sell.

Now I'm not one to get upset at an attempted up sell. I mean come on, I try to sell you guys on Dale Carnegie in every post. I like money - so how could I get mad at someone for wanting more of it? Point is, I respect a good up sell and, often times, am suckered into it.

But this was not an up sell. It turned out to be an insult more than anything.

When she was halfway done with my pedi, she looked up and asked "do you want your eyebrows waxed?"

"No, thanks," I replied.

Then, she came closer to me. She stared at my eyebrows for a second and made this horrible face - I couldn't tell if it was genuine concern or total disgust. Either way, the face alone was just plain offensive. She looked like she had just bitten into a bad apple.

"You sure?" she asked, still making the face.

ARE YOU KIDDING ME YOU HORRIBLE WITCH. GET THAT FACE OFF YOUR FACE.

...is what I wanted to say.

What I really said: "I'm sure - thanks."

Seriously, this was so not ok. First of all - my eyebrows are on point thank you very much. Second off - there are ways to suggest something to someone without completely mortifying them.

It was a simple facial expression that totally shattered my relationship with this woman. If she had simply asked "you sure?" with a smile, everything would have been totally fine. Who knows, maybe I would have even gone for it.

Instead, her negative expression uttered pretentious superiority, and that left no room for a successful up sell. It even made me dislike my pedicure (which otherwise, I probably would have thought was just fine).

In business terms, the attempted up sell here completely ruined the client relationship. It made me (the client) detest the product I initially bought (the pedicure) and abolished any chance of future business (Ok, so I'll probably go back to the salon - but I'll specifically request anyone BUT her).

Don't get me wrong - an up sell always has potential. Just remember, that person is already your client. They've already given you their money. Therefore, they expect gratitude and respect, as well as great service.

In the up sell, you are putting it all on the line: your reputation with the client, potential referrals, and future profit from that client. Everything matters from your tone of voice to your accountability.

Just like any other relationship, the client relationship must be nurtured. It's time consuming, and it's easier to screw it up than to put in the work for it to be successful.

Remember to put their needs and wants first. Remember to show genuine appreciation. Remember to SMILE. And in the end, you might just end up waxing their eyebrows.

Well, I'd love to stay and chat but I'm off to JAMAICA MON!

Cheers!

Hannah


RECENT POST
bottom of page