top of page

Technology Takeover - The Anxiety is REAL

This past weekend, I started watching the show "Black Mirrors." If you haven't seen it, you can watch it on Netflix. But be warned: It's not a "feel good" show. Essentially, the show "mirrors" how technology is taking over society. And no, I'm not talking about posting cute pictures of your puppy on Instagram. I'm talking some seriously dark stuff.

Though, in my opinion, the extent of the technological takeover in the show is a bit extreme and would never actually happen, the series has heightened my awareness of the realities of this digital takeover.

As I'm writing this, I'm sitting by a pool bar on Hollywood Boulevard (why don't I live here?!) This is what I see:

- A beautiful sunny sky and palm trees. So many palm trees.

- A girl on her iPhone scrolling through Facebook

- A man on his laptop

- A woman on her laptop

- A kid swimming in the pool.

-A woman (presumably the kid's mother) watching the kid in the pool

- A man listening to music on his iPhone (or maybe a iPod - do those still exist?)

Now, I'm not calling anyone out. How could I? I'm doing the same exact thing: sitting here on my laptop typing away.

But, it did occur to me just now that if none of us had these devices, perhaps we'd all be conversing with - wait for it - each other.

After all, we all at least have one thing in common: we're sitting at a pool bar on a Tuesday afternoon.

The thing is, no one wants to be that person who strikes up a conversation out of nowhere. Not anymore at least. We're too afraid we might be interrupting their meaningless Twitter war.

I'm not going to lie - I'm totally guilty of it. From both ends, too. I've been the one sitting there looking at my phone unintentionally prohibiting someone from talking to me. I've even pretended to be texting someone while in an elevator in order to avoid awkward small talk.

I've also been in the situation where I lacked the confidence to chat with a stranger due to fear of rejection. Maybe they'd think I was weird for talking to them. Or maybe they'd think I was rude for taking them away from their iPhone.

Society has shaped us to be afraid of face to face communication. It's morphed a simple conversation into a daunting task that many people now dread.

We ALL do this - there's no denying it. Technology takeover is simply undeniable.

I'm in Hollywood this week to work with three different groups of clients - none of whom I've met. I can't even lie - it's pretty intimidating. My entire career centers around building relationships and relaying clear messages, yet I still get nervous when it comes to face-to-face, especially with new people. I have a hunch the feeling is mutual.

SO, my challenge to myself and to all of you this week is to be that person! Talk to someone new. Interrupt their budding relationship with their iPhone to promote face to face communication. Make a connection with a stranger - even if it's about the weather.

Let's do this!

Hannah

RECENT POST
bottom of page